Skip to main content

General-purpose assistants

Notion AI

Workspace AI for documents, search, and meeting notes.

Status
Active
Data statements
Published
Last checked
September 21, 2026
Price path
Public price
Firm size
Not stated

Last observed 42 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.

Not legal-specific. This is a general-purpose product, not a legal workflow product.

Editorial assessment

Workspace AI with an unusually specific published data-retention position.

This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.

What it is

AI features inside the Notion workspace, covering agents, enterprise search, and meeting notes, with published statements on subprocessor training, retention, and encryption.

What it is not

It is not a legal product and not a document management system for matters. It is a general workspace tool that a firm may use for internal knowledge.

Who it tends to fit

  • Firms that already use Notion for internal knowledge and process documentation
  • Teams that want AI search across their own workspace
  • Buyers who weigh published retention and training statements

Who it tends not to fit

  • Firms that need matter management or legal-specific workflow
  • Firms that need document review or e-discovery
  • Firms that need a legal-specific vendor relationship

What to ask before you buy

  1. Which plan gives zero data retention, and what applies on lower plans?
  2. What do the subprocessor agreements actually prohibit?
  3. Where is workspace data stored?
  4. What happens to AI-generated content if the firm leaves Notion?

Limits in the record

  • The product is not legal-specific, so the record flags it accordingly.
  • Retention differs by plan: zero retention on Enterprise, thirty days otherwise.
  • The workspace is not a system of record for matters, so it should not hold client files.

How it sits in General-purpose assistants

This is a general workspace tool rather than a legal platform. It competes with Glean and Amazon Q Business on enterprise search and with Otter on meeting notes.

Reading the vendor’s wording

This is one of the more specific published positions in the category: contractual agreements with AI subprocessors prohibiting training on customer data, SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001, TLS 1.2 or greater in transit, zero data retention on Enterprise, and thirty-day retention otherwise. The plan difference is the part to read closely.

How to evaluate it in a trial

  1. Confirm which plan gives zero data retention, since the lower plans differ.
  2. Read the subprocessor agreements and check what they prohibit.
  3. Ask where workspace data is stored.
  4. Confirm the export format for pages and databases.

What adopting it costs

The switching cost is the workspace content and any automation built inside it. A firm leaving should confirm it can export pages and databases in a usable format.

Closest alternative

Glean — The closest alternative. Both provide AI search across workplace content; Notion is a workspace with AI built in while Glean searches across many applications.

The record

Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.

What we verified

Vendor
Notion. Observed September 21, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Price path
Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
What it does
General practice. Notion presents workspace AI covering agents, enterprise search, and meeting notes inside the Notion workspace. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
Firm-size scope
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Connections
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Data location
Zero data retention for Enterprise. No data is stored with LLM providers. 30 day retention for non-Enterprise.. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
Open the vendor page ↗