Skip to main content

Practice management AI

Manage AI (formerly Clio Duo)

AI assistance embedded in Clio Manage for matter summaries and daily work.

Status
Active
Data statements
Partial
Last checked
September 15, 2026
Price path
Public price
Firm size
Not stated

Last observed 48 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.

Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.

Editorial assessment

An AI assistant built into Clio Manage, useful only if Clio is already your system of record.

This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.

What it is

Clio's AI layer that sits inside the Clio Manage practice-management platform. It is not a standalone product you can buy on its own; it is a feature of a platform you already pay for.

What it is not

It is not a drafting tool, a research tool, or a general assistant. It does not replace a document-automation or legal-research subscription, and it does not work outside Clio.

Who it tends to fit

  • Firms already running Clio Manage as their system of record
  • Firms that want AI inside the tool their staff already open every day
  • Firms handling general practice, family, or immigration matters, which the vendor names

Who it tends not to fit

  • Firms on a different practice-management platform, since the product does not exist outside Clio
  • Firms looking for a standalone AI tool they can evaluate on its own
  • Firms that need a published firm-size scope before they will shortlist a product

What to ask before you buy

  1. Which Clio Manage plan includes this, and is it an add-on cost on top of my current subscription?
  2. What exactly does the assistant do inside a matter, and what does it leave to my staff?
  3. Where is my client data processed, and does Clio publish a data-location statement for it?
  4. What happens to the assistant's output if I downgrade or leave Clio?

Limits in the record

  • The vendor does not publish a firm-size scope for this product in the checked source.
  • The vendor does not publish a data-location statement for this product in the checked source.
  • Because it is embedded in Clio Manage, evaluating it means evaluating your whole platform relationship.

How it sits in Practice management AI

Inside practice-management AI, this is the Clio-native option. MyCase IQ and Smokeball Archie AI are the equivalent embedded assistants for their own platforms, so the real choice is usually which platform you already run, not which assistant is better.

Reading the vendor’s wording

The vendor says the assistant follows the firm's existing Clio Manage permissions and will not surface data from files or matters a user is not authorised to access. It also states that customer data is never used to train external AI models.

How to evaluate it in a trial

  1. Confirm which Clio Manage plan includes the assistant and whether it is an add-on cost.
  2. Test whether the permission model actually blocks access to a matter a test user should not see.
  3. Run one real matter summary and judge whether the output is usable without a rewrite.
  4. Ask what happens to the assistant's output if you downgrade or leave Clio.

What adopting it costs

The assistant only exists inside Clio Manage, so there is nothing to migrate on its own. Adopting it means adopting Clio; leaving means leaving Clio.

Closest alternative

8am IQ for MyCase — The MyCase-native equivalent. The two are features of competing platforms, so the platform decision comes first.

The record

Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.

What we verified

Vendor
Clio. Observed September 15, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Price path
Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
What it does
General practice, Family law, Immigration. Clio presents Manage AI as the current name for the product formerly called Clio Duo. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
Firm-size scope
Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Connections
Clio Manage. Observed September 15, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Data location
Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
Open the vendor page ↗