Skip to main content

SIGNATURE SURFACE · QUOTE LEDGER

What vendors say about your data.

Verbatim statements from vendor-published pages, recorded with the observation date. “Not stated” on a tool page means we did not locate a vendor statement in the checked source.

Vendor-published confidentiality and training or data-use statements
ToolConfidentiality statementTraining or data-use statementObserved
Manage AI (formerly Clio Duo)ClioAI features in Clio adhere to your existing Clio Manage permissions and will not surface data or matter details from files or matters you are not authorized to access.Source ↗No-training commitment“Your data is never used to train external AI models.”SourceSeptember 15, 2026
8am IQ for MyCase8am MyCaseThe 8am MyCase platform has extensive safeguards in place so that your confidential data is not exposed to another 8am MyCase customer. These safeguards extend to 8am IQ.Source ↗Mixed statement“Our 8am IQ offerings do not train third-party AI models, but we may use inputs and outputs to develop and improve our products in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the security standards described above (How do you keep my data secure?).”SourceSeptember 15, 2026
Smokeball Archie AISmokeballSmokeball AI capabilities (including Archie AI) are designed and operated to protect the confidentiality, integrity and availability of customer data and to support privacy requirements by limiting AI access to authorized users, authorized matters and authorized firm environments.Source ↗No-training commitment“Smokeball does not provide customer data to third parties for AI model training or third-party AI modelling.”SourceSeptember 15, 2026
HarveyHarveyWe don’t use inputs, outputs, or uploaded documents to train underlying models.Source ↗No-training commitment“Harvey contractually prohibits model providers from training on customer data and only uses your data for processing your requests, not for model improvement.”SourceSeptember 15, 2026
CoCounselThomson ReutersYour user content and prompts are not used to train or improve CoCounsel and associated products or LLMs used in Thomson Reuters or third-party output.Source ↗No-training commitment“Thomson Reuters AI third-party partners, such as OpenAI and Google, are contractually prohibited from using any customer data to train their models.”SourceSeptember 15, 2026
Lexis+ with ProtégéLexisNexisLexisNexis protects customer data wherever it is stored, sent, or accessed.Source ↗No-training commitment“We never use customer data to train AI models and maintain robust data retention and deletion policies.”SourceSeptember 15, 2026
SpellbookSpellbookSpellbook has negotiated agreements with both OpenAI and Anthropic for zero data retention (ZDR). This means customer data included in requests and responses with these LLMs is not persisted and exists only in memory in order to process a request.Source ↗No-training commitment“Zero data retention means our LLM providers never learn from, train on, or store your data.”SourceSeptember 15, 2026
LawmaticsLawmaticsLawmatics stores all of your law firm’s data at 256-bit AES encryption, the same standard used by banks and other large financial institutions.Source ↗Not statedNot statedChecked sourceSeptember 15, 2026
Drafty AIDrafty AIYour clients' data stays yoursSource ↗No-training commitment“And no training on your data, ever.”SourceSeptember 15, 2026
Visalaw.aiVisalaw.aiEach customer's data is logically isolated from other customers' data within our platform.Source ↗No-training commitment“We do not use Customer Data or Customer Content (queries and outputs) to train any AI models. Our third-party model providers are also contractually prohibited from training on customer data.”SourceSeptember 15, 2026

A missing statement is not a conclusion about the vendor. Training labels distinguish no-training commitments from mixed or affirmative data-use language.