General-purpose assistants
ChatGPT Business
General-purpose assistant with a business workspace and admin controls.
Last observed 48 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.
Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.
Not legal-specific. This is a general-purpose product, not a legal workflow product.
Editorial assessment
A general assistant with a business workspace, not legal software, and not a substitute for a legal tool.
This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.
What it is
A general-purpose assistant with a business workspace and administrative controls. The vendor states it will not train on workspace data.
What it is not
It is not legal software. It does not know your matters, it does not cite authority, and it does not manage documents or clients. It is a general assistant that a firm might use alongside legal tools.
Who it tends to fit
- Firms that want a general assistant for drafting and summarising outside client work
- Firms that need administrative controls over who can use it
- Firms that will write their own rules for what may and may not be entered
Who it tends not to fit
- Firms looking for a legal research or drafting product
- Firms that cannot police what staff paste into a general assistant
- Firms that need matter-aware output
What to ask before you buy
- What is the workspace retention setting, and who can change it?
- What is the firm's own rule for what may be entered, and who enforces it?
- Does the no-training commitment cover every model in the workspace?
- Where is the data processed?
Limits in the record
- It is not legal-specific, so it does not cite authority or understand matters.
- The vendor does not publish a firm-size scope in the checked source.
- The vendor does not publish a data-location statement in the checked source.
- Its value depends entirely on the firm's own usage rules, which the vendor does not supply.
How it sits in General-purpose assistants
Inside general-purpose assistants, the four options here differ mainly in where they live: a standalone workspace, a commercial contract, a productivity suite, or a Microsoft tenant. None is legal-specific, so the choice is usually about which ecosystem the firm already runs and what controls that ecosystem gives the administrator.
Reading the vendor’s wording
The vendor states plainly that it will not train on your workspace's data. That is a clean commitment, but it does not answer where data is processed, who inside the vendor can reach it, or what the retention setting is by default.
How to evaluate it in a trial
- Confirm the workspace retention setting and who can change it.
- Write the firm's rule for what may be entered and decide who enforces it.
- Ask whether the no-training commitment covers every model in the workspace.
- Ask where the data is processed.
What adopting it costs
It is a standalone workspace, so adopting it does not require changing a productivity suite. The switching cost is mostly the firm's own usage policy, which the vendor does not supply.
Closest alternative
Claude for Work — The closest peer on commercial terms. Neither is legal software, so the choice is about which vendor's terms and controls the firm prefers.
The record
Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.
What we verified
- Vendor
- OpenAI. Observed September 15, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
- Price path
- Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
- What it does
- General practice. General-purpose assistant; not legal-specific. Verify workspace settings before use. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
- Firm-size scope
- Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Connections
- Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Data location
- Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗