Skip to main content

General-purpose assistants

Claude for Work

General-purpose assistant for teams with commercial data controls.

Status
Active
Data statements
Partial
Last checked
September 15, 2026
Price path
Public price
Firm size
Not stated

Last observed 48 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.

Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.

Not legal-specific. This is a general-purpose product, not a legal workflow product.

Editorial assessment

A general assistant sold on commercial data terms, not legal software.

This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.

What it is

A general-purpose assistant for teams, sold under commercial terms that state customer content is confidential and that the vendor may not train on it.

What it is not

It is not legal software. It does not cite authority, manage matters, or understand a legal workflow. It is a general assistant with strong commercial terms.

Who it tends to fit

  • Firms that want a general assistant with explicit commercial confidentiality terms
  • Firms that will write their own usage rules
  • Firms that want a standalone assistant rather than one tied to a productivity suite

Who it tends not to fit

  • Firms looking for legal research, drafting, or matter management
  • Firms that cannot police what staff enter
  • Firms that need matter-aware output

What to ask before you buy

  1. Which commercial plan applies, and what are its retention settings?
  2. Does the no-training commitment cover every model the plan can reach?
  3. What is the firm's rule for what may be entered, and who enforces it?
  4. Where is the data processed?

Limits in the record

  • It is not legal-specific, so it does not cite authority or understand matters.
  • The vendor does not publish a firm-size scope in the checked source.
  • The vendor does not publish a data-location statement in the checked source.

How it sits in General-purpose assistants

Inside general-purpose assistants, this competes on commercial terms rather than legal features. ChatGPT Business is the closest peer on that axis. Neither is legal software, so the choice is about which vendor's terms and controls your firm prefers, not which is better at legal work.

Reading the vendor’s wording

The vendor states that customer content is the customer's confidential information and that it may not train models on customer content from the services. Both statements are contractual rather than marketing language, which is worth noting.

How to evaluate it in a trial

  1. Confirm which commercial plan applies and what its retention settings are.
  2. Ask whether the no-training commitment covers every model the plan can reach.
  3. Write the firm's rule for what may be entered and decide who enforces it.
  4. Ask where the data is processed.

What adopting it costs

It is a standalone assistant under commercial terms, so adopting it does not change a productivity suite. The switching cost is the firm's own usage policy and staff habits.

Closest alternative

ChatGPT Business — The closest peer on commercial terms. Neither is legal software, so the choice is about which vendor's terms the firm prefers.

The record

Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.

What we verified

Vendor
Anthropic. Observed September 15, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Price path
Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
What it does
General practice. General-purpose assistant; not legal-specific. Review commercial terms and retention settings. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
Firm-size scope
Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Connections
Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Data location
Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
Open the vendor page ↗