Skip to main content

Practice management AI

8am IQ for MyCase

The current name for MyCase IQ, an AI layer for matter work and client communications.

Status
Active
Data statements
Partial
Last checked
September 15, 2026
Price path
Public price
Firm size
Not stated

Last observed 48 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.

Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.

Editorial assessment

An AI layer inside MyCase, and a platform decision more than a standalone tool decision.

This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.

What it is

The AI layer built into the MyCase legal practice-management platform, now sold under the 8am IQ name. It works on matter work and client communications inside MyCase.

What it is not

It is not a standalone product, a drafting suite, or a research tool. It does not work outside the MyCase platform, and it is not something you can adopt without adopting MyCase.

Who it tends to fit

  • Firms already running MyCase as their system of record
  • Firms that want matter and client-communication help inside the platform they already use
  • Firms handling general practice, family, or immigration matters, which the vendor names

Who it tends not to fit

  • Firms on a different practice-management platform
  • Firms that want to trial an AI tool before committing to a platform
  • Firms that need a published firm-size scope, which the vendor does not state

What to ask before you buy

  1. Is this included in my MyCase plan, or is it a separate line item?
  2. The vendor says it may use inputs and outputs to improve its products. Can I opt out, and does opting out change the feature?
  3. Where is my client data processed and stored?
  4. What happens to the assistant if I change practice-management vendors?

Limits in the record

  • The training statement is mixed: the vendor says it does not train third-party models but may use inputs and outputs to improve its own products. Both halves matter.
  • The vendor does not publish a firm-size scope in the checked source.
  • The vendor does not publish a data-location statement in the checked source.
  • The product has been renamed, so older reviews and documentation may describe it under a different name.

How it sits in Practice management AI

This is the MyCase-native assistant. Clio Duo is the Clio-native equivalent and Smokeball Archie AI is the Smokeball-native equivalent. The three are not really competing products; they are features of three competing platforms, so the platform decision comes first.

Reading the vendor’s wording

The vendor says client data is not exposed to another MyCase customer, and that its AI does not train third-party models. The second half of the training statement is the part to read: the vendor reserves the right to use inputs and outputs to improve its own products.

How to evaluate it in a trial

  1. Confirm whether the assistant is included in your MyCase plan or is a separate line item.
  2. Ask in writing whether the internal product-improvement use of inputs and outputs can be turned off.
  3. Run one real matter through it and check whether the output needs a full rewrite or a light edit.
  4. Ask what happens to the assistant and its output if you later change practice-management vendors.

What adopting it costs

Because the assistant lives inside MyCase, adopting it means adopting MyCase. Leaving means leaving the platform, so the migration question is the same as the platform question.

Closest alternative

Manage AI (formerly Clio Duo) — The Clio-native equivalent. The two are not competing products; the choice follows which practice-management platform you already run.

The record

Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.

What we verified

Vendor
8am MyCase. Observed September 15, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Price path
Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
What it does
General practice, Family law, Immigration. The vendor presents 8am IQ as AI built into the MyCase legal practice-management platform. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
Firm-size scope
Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Connections
8am MyCase, Microsoft Outlook. Observed September 15, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Data location
Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
Open the vendor page ↗