Skip to main content

General-purpose assistants

Gemini for Google Workspace

General-purpose AI features within Google Workspace services.

Status
Active
Data statements
Partial
Last checked
September 15, 2026
Price path
Public price
Firm size
Not stated

Last observed 48 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.

Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.

Not legal-specific. This is a general-purpose product, not a legal workflow product.

Editorial assessment

General AI inside Google Workspace, useful only if your firm already runs on Workspace.

This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.

What it is

General-purpose AI features inside Google Workspace services. The vendor states that prompt content stays within the organisation and that Workspace does not train on customer data without permission.

What it is not

It is not legal software. It does not cite authority or manage matters, and it only exists inside Workspace.

Who it tends to fit

  • Firms already running Google Workspace
  • Firms that want AI inside the productivity tools they already use
  • Firms whose administrators will configure availability

Who it tends not to fit

  • Firms on Microsoft 365 rather than Workspace
  • Firms looking for legal research or drafting
  • Firms that cannot manage admin controls

What to ask before you buy

  1. Which Workspace plan includes the AI features, and what is the per-seat cost?
  2. What can an administrator turn off, and what is on by default?
  3. Does the no-training position cover every AI feature in the suite?
  4. Where is the data processed?

Limits in the record

  • It is not legal-specific, so it does not cite authority or understand matters.
  • It only exists inside Google Workspace, so it is a platform decision as much as a tool decision.
  • The vendor does not publish a firm-size scope in the checked source.

How it sits in General-purpose assistants

Inside general-purpose assistants, this is the Workspace-native option. Microsoft 365 Copilot is the direct equivalent in the Microsoft ecosystem. The two are not really competing products; the choice follows which productivity suite the firm already runs.

Reading the vendor’s wording

The vendor states that prompt content stays within the organisation and that Workspace does not use customer data for training without permission or instruction. The word permission matters: it means the default is no, but the setting is worth confirming.

How to evaluate it in a trial

  1. Confirm which Workspace plan includes the AI features and the per-seat cost.
  2. Ask what an administrator can turn off and what is on by default.
  3. Check whether the no-training position covers every AI feature in the suite.
  4. Ask where the data is processed.

What adopting it costs

It only exists inside Google Workspace, so the switching cost is the workspace decision itself. A firm on Microsoft 365 would not adopt this without changing suites.

Closest alternative

Microsoft 365 Copilot — The direct equivalent in the Microsoft ecosystem. The choice follows which productivity suite the firm already runs.

The record

Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.

What we verified

Vendor
Google. Observed September 15, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Price path
Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
What it does
General practice. General-purpose assistant; not legal-specific. Workspace administrators control availability. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
Firm-size scope
Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Connections
Google Drive, Gmail, Docs. Observed September 15, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Data location
Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
Open the vendor page ↗