General-purpose assistants
Microsoft 365 Copilot
General-purpose assistant grounded in Microsoft 365 tenant content.
Last observed 48 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.
Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.
Not legal-specific. This is a general-purpose product, not a legal workflow product.
Editorial assessment
General AI grounded in your Microsoft 365 tenant, useful only if your firm already runs on Microsoft.
This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.
What it is
A general-purpose assistant grounded in Microsoft 365 tenant content, with a vendor statement that prompts and data accessed through Microsoft Graph are not used to train foundation models.
What it is not
It is not legal software. It does not cite authority or manage matters, and it only exists inside the Microsoft ecosystem.
Who it tends to fit
- Firms already running Microsoft 365
- Firms that want AI grounded in their own documents and mail
- Firms whose administrators will manage tenant controls and licensing
Who it tends not to fit
- Firms on Google Workspace rather than Microsoft 365
- Firms looking for legal research or drafting
- Firms that cannot manage tenant-level permissions
What to ask before you buy
- Which licence includes it, and what is the per-seat cost?
- What does the assistant surface from a tenant, and can I scope it so it does not reach the wrong content?
- Does the no-training position cover every model in the product?
- Where is the data processed?
Limits in the record
- It is not legal-specific, so it does not cite authority or understand matters.
- Because it is grounded in tenant content, its output depends on how well the firm's permissions are set.
- The vendor does not publish a firm-size scope in the checked source.
How it sits in General-purpose assistants
Inside general-purpose assistants, this is the Microsoft-native option and the direct counterpart to Gemini for Google Workspace. The choice follows the firm's existing productivity suite, and the controls an administrator can set matter more than the model.
Reading the vendor’s wording
The vendor states that prompts, responses, and data accessed through Microsoft Graph are not used to train foundation models. Because the assistant is grounded in tenant content, the practical risk is usually permissions rather than training.
How to evaluate it in a trial
- Confirm which licence includes it and the per-seat cost.
- Test whether the assistant surfaces content from a folder a test user should not reach.
- Ask whether the no-training position covers every model in the product.
- Ask where the data is processed.
What adopting it costs
It only exists inside Microsoft 365, so the switching cost is the tenant decision itself. Because it reads tenant content, the setup work is mostly permissions, not migration.
Closest alternative
Gemini for Google Workspace — The direct counterpart in the Google ecosystem. The choice follows the firm's existing productivity suite.
The record
Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.
What we verified
- Vendor
- Microsoft. Observed September 15, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
- Price path
- Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
- What it does
- General practice. General-purpose assistant; not legal-specific. Confirm tenant controls and licensing. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
- Firm-size scope
- Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Connections
- Microsoft Word, Outlook, Teams. Observed September 15, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
- Data location
- Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗