Drafting & review
Spellbook
Word-native AI for contract drafting, review, and redlining.
Last observed 48 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.
Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.
Editorial assessment
A Word-native contract assistant with one of the clearest no-training statements in the directory.
This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.
What it is
A contract drafting, review, and redlining assistant that works inside Microsoft Word and Google Docs. It is aimed at transactional and healthcare work in the checked source.
What it is not
It is not a practice-management platform, a research tool, or an intake product. It does not manage matters, and it does not replace your document store.
Who it tends to fit
- Transactional and healthcare practices, which the vendor names
- Firms that draft and redline contracts in Word and want help in place
- Firms that weight a zero-data-retention commitment heavily
Who it tends not to fit
- Litigation firms looking for research or case assessment
- Firms that need matter management rather than document help
- Firms that draft outside Word and Google Docs
What to ask before you buy
- Does the zero-data-retention commitment apply to every model the product routes to, or only some?
- What happens to a document I open in the assistant if I cancel?
- Which Word and Google Docs versions does it support?
- Is the price per seat, and does it change with document volume?
Limits in the record
- The vendor does not publish a firm-size scope in the checked source.
- The vendor does not publish a data-location statement in the checked source.
- It is a document-layer tool, so it does not cover the rest of a matter workflow.
How it sits in Drafting & review
Inside drafting and review, this is the Word-native option for a smaller buyer. Harvey is the enterprise alternative with a sales-led contract. For a solo or small transactional practice, the practical difference is that this one can be adopted inside the tool you already write in.
Reading the vendor’s wording
The vendor says it has negotiated zero-data-retention agreements with OpenAI and Anthropic, so customer data in requests and responses is not persisted and exists only in memory to process a request. It also states that its providers never learn from, train on, or store customer data.
How to evaluate it in a trial
- Confirm the zero-data-retention commitment applies to every model the product routes to, not only some.
- Test it on a real contract in the Word version you actually use.
- Check whether the price is per seat and whether it changes with document volume.
- Ask what happens to a document you open in the assistant if you cancel.
What adopting it costs
It works inside Word and Google Docs, so there is little to migrate. The document stays where it already lives, which keeps the switching cost low and the lock-in correspondingly low.
Closest alternative
Harvey — The enterprise alternative with a sales-led contract. This one can be adopted inside the tool you already write in.
The record
Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.
What we verified
- Vendor
- Spellbook. Observed September 15, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
- Price path
- Contact sales: No public price was located in the checked vendor source. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
- What it does
- Transactional, Healthcare. Spellbook describes a Microsoft Word workflow for contracts. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗
- Firm-size scope
- Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Connections
- Microsoft Word, Google Docs. Observed September 15, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
- Data location
- Not stated. Observed September 15, 2026 · Source ↗