Legal research
PACER
The federal judiciary electronic public access service for court records.
Last observed 42 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.
Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.
Editorial assessment
The federal judiciary's own paid access service for court records.
This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.
What it is
The Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts electronic public access service, covering federal court records through the PACER Case Locator and document access.
What it is not
It is not a research platform or an analytics product. It provides access to records rather than tools for analysing them.
Who it tends to fit
- Firms that need direct access to federal court records
- Researchers and journalists working with federal filings
- Anyone who needs the authoritative source rather than a third-party copy
Who it tends not to fit
- Firms looking for analytics or trend analysis, which PACER does not provide
- Firms that need state court records, which are not covered
- Firms that want a single interface across many courts and tribunals
What to ask before you buy
- What are the current per-page and per-search fees, and is there a waiver threshold?
- What does the Case Locator cover compared with full document access?
- What is the process for fee exemptions, if the firm qualifies?
- How does the service relate to third-party tools built on top of it?
Limits in the record
- The service charges per page and per search, so cost scales with use in a way a subscription does not.
- It provides records rather than research or analytics tools.
- Coverage is federal courts only, so state court work needs a different source.
How it sits in Legal research
This is the underlying source rather than a competing product. Third-party tools like Docket Alarm and CourtListener build on top of the same federal records, so a firm may use PACER directly, through a third party, or both.
Reading the vendor’s wording
The service provides access to public federal court records. The confidentiality question that applies to a commercial platform holding firm work product does not apply in the same way, because the material is already public. The checked pages do not publish a data-handling statement.
How to evaluate it in a trial
- Confirm the current fee schedule and whether your usage would qualify for an exemption.
- Check whether the Case Locator alone covers your need or whether full document access is required.
- Compare the cost against a third-party tool that bundles the same records with analytics.
- Decide whether you need the authoritative source directly or a value-added layer on top.
What adopting it costs
There is no switching cost in the usual sense, because there is no subscription. The relevant cost is any workflow a firm has built around third-party tools layered on the same records.
Closest alternative
CourtListener — The closest alternative for access to federal records. CourtListener is free and non-profit, but it is a third-party copy rather than the judiciary's own service.
The record
Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.
What we verified
- Vendor
- Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts. Observed September 21, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
- Price path
- Contact sales: No public price was located in the checked vendor source. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
- What it does
- General practice. PACER presents the federal Judiciary electronic public access service, including the PACER Case Locator and account management. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
- Firm-size scope
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Connections
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Data location
- Log in to the federal Judiciary electronic public access services.. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗