Practice management AI
Clio Manage
Practice management covering matters, billing, and client intake.
Last observed 42 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.
Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.
Editorial assessment
The platform Clio's AI features sit inside, with a strong published audit position.
This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.
What it is
Clio's practice-management platform, covering matters, billing, client intake, and the AI features sold as Clio Manage AI. It publishes annual SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II examinations.
What it is not
It is not a standalone AI tool. The AI features exist inside the platform, so adopting them means adopting Clio.
Who it tends to fit
- Small and mid-sized firms that want one platform for matters, billing, and intake
- Firms that weigh published audit reports in the buying decision
- Firms that want AI features without adding a separate vendor
Who it tends not to fit
- Firms already committed to a different practice-management platform
- Firms that want to evaluate an AI tool independently of their platform choice
- Firms that need a published data-location commitment, which the checked pages do not state
What to ask before you buy
- Which plan includes the AI features, and are they an add-on cost?
- What do the SOC 1 and SOC 2 reports cover, and can I review them?
- Where is my firm's data hosted?
- What does migrating from my current platform involve?
Limits in the record
- The checked pages state SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II examinations but do not publish a data-location or training statement.
- The platform is the system of record, so the migration cost is high relative to a standalone tool.
- The record covers the platform rather than the AI features alone.
How it sits in Practice management AI
This is the platform layer, with Clio Manage AI as a feature inside it. The catalog carries both so a reader can see the platform decision and the AI decision separately.
Reading the vendor’s wording
The vendor states that it completes annual SOC 2 Type II and SOC 1 Type II examinations and that the reports are available through a trust portal. That is a strong, verifiable process commitment. The checked pages do not state where data is hosted or how it is used for model training, so those questions remain open.
How to evaluate it in a trial
- Confirm which plan includes the AI features and whether they cost extra.
- Request access to the SOC 1 and SOC 2 reports through the trust portal.
- Ask where firm data is hosted and how it is used for model training.
- Map the migration from your current platform, including historical billing.
What adopting it costs
The switching cost is high, because the platform is the firm's system of record. Matters, documents, billing, and client data all live inside it, and a migration has to move each while keeping financial records auditable.
Closest alternative
MyCase — The closest alternative. Both are small-firm practice-management platforms; Clio publishes annual SOC 1 and SOC 2 examinations while MyCase does not.
The record
Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.
What we verified
- Vendor
- Clio. Observed September 21, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
- Price path
- Contact sales: No public price was located in the checked vendor source. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
- What it does
- General practice. Clio presents practice management covering matters, billing, client intake, and the AI features layered on top. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
- Firm-size scope
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Connections
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Data location
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗