Practice management AI
Actionstep
Cloud practice management for growing law firms, with trust accounting.
Last observed 42 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.
Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.
Editorial assessment
Cloud practice management for growing firms, with a published SOC 2 Type 2 examination.
This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.
What it is
Cloud practice management for growing law firms, including trust and client accounting. The vendor announces a completed SOC 2 Type 2 examination.
What it is not
It is not an e-discovery platform and it is not a research tool. It is a system of record for running a firm.
Who it tends to fit
- Growing firms that need trust and client accounting
- Firms that want a published SOC 2 statement
- Firms that need compliance and accounting in one system
Who it tends not to fit
- Solo attorneys who want the simplest possible stack
- Firms that need document review and production
- Firms looking for research or drafting tools
What to ask before you buy
- What is the price, and how does it scale with users?
- How does trust accounting handle multi-jurisdiction requirements?
- Which data region hosts my data?
- What does export look like if I leave?
Limits in the record
- The vendor does not publish a price in the checked source.
- The checked source announces the SOC 2 examination but does not state a quotable data-location commitment.
How it sits in Practice management AI
Inside practice management AI, this leans toward firms that have outgrown a solo-focused system, with an emphasis on trust accounting. PracticePanther and Rocket Matter are the smaller-firm alternatives.
Reading the vendor’s wording
The vendor announces a completed SOC 2 Type 2 examination and describes managing trust and client finances, compliance, and security in one place. It does not publish a data-location statement or a training statement in the checked source.
How to evaluate it in a trial
- Ask for the price and how it scales with users.
- Ask how trust accounting handles multi-jurisdiction requirements.
- Ask which data region hosts your data.
- Ask what export looks like if you leave.
What adopting it costs
It is a firm-wide system of record with trust accounting, so adopting it means replacing your current platform and migrating financial records. That is a heavier migration than a point tool.
Closest alternative
Centerbase — The closest mid-sized-firm peer. Both serve firms that have outgrown a solo-focused system; the difference is usually accounting depth.
The record
Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.
What we verified
- Vendor
- Actionstep. Observed September 21, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
- Price path
- Contact sales: No public price was located in the checked vendor source. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
- What it does
- General practice. Actionstep presents cloud practice management and trust accounting for law firms. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
- Firm-size scope
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Connections
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Data location
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗