Intake & client communication
Ruby
Virtual reception and live chat with legal intake support.
Last observed 42 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.
Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.
Editorial assessment
Live virtual reception with HIPAA-compliant staff, aimed at small firms.
This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.
What it is
A virtual reception and live chat service with legal intake support. The vendor states that its receptionists are HIPAA-compliant and that it handles lead qualification and intake.
What it is not
It is not a practice-management platform and it is not a case-management system. It answers and qualifies calls, then hands the information to your firm.
Who it tends to fit
- Small firms that miss calls when staff are busy or out of hours
- Firms that want a person answering rather than an automated system
- Firms that need HIPAA-compliant receptionists
Who it tends not to fit
- Firms that want every call handled by their own staff
- Firms looking for case management or billing
- Firms that need legal advice given on calls
What to ask before you buy
- What is the price, and is it per minute or a monthly plan?
- What is the difference between the HIPAA-compliant tier and the standard tier?
- How is caller information separated between firms?
- What happens to intake data if I cancel?
Limits in the record
- The vendor does not publish a firm-size scope in the checked source.
- It covers reception and intake, so it does not help with the work that comes after a matter opens.
How it sits in Intake & client communication
Inside intake and client communication, this is the live-reception option. Smith.ai is the AI-plus-agent alternative. The difference is whether you want a person on every call or a mix of automation and staff.
Reading the vendor’s wording
The vendor states that it offers HIPAA-compliant receptionists, lead qualification and intake, and payment processing. It does not publish a data-location statement or a training statement in the checked source.
How to evaluate it in a trial
- Ask for the price and whether it is per minute or a monthly plan.
- Ask what the difference is between the HIPAA-compliant tier and the standard tier.
- Ask how caller information is separated between firms.
- Ask what happens to intake data if you cancel.
What adopting it costs
It handles first contact rather than matters, so adopting it does not replace a practice-management platform. The switching cost is the phone number and the intake script.
Closest alternative
Smith.ai — The AI-plus-agent alternative. This one puts a person on every call; that one mixes automation and staff.
The record
Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.
What we verified
- Vendor
- Ruby Receptionists. Observed September 21, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
- Price path
- Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
- What it does
- General practice. Ruby presents virtual reception and live chat for law firms. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
- Firm-size scope
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Connections
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Data location
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗