COMPARISON · Practice management AI
8am IQ for MyCase vs Smokeball Archie AI
Practice-management AI compared on firm-size scope and confidentiality wording. This page places vendor-published facts side by side. It does not rank the products or state which is better.
| Fact | 8am IQ for MyCase | Smokeball Archie AI |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Practice management AI | Practice management AI |
| Vendor | 8am MyCase | Smokeball |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Price path | Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page. | Contact sales: No public price was located in the checked vendor source. |
| Confidentiality statement | “The 8am MyCase platform has extensive safeguards in place so that your confidential data is not exposed to another 8am MyCase customer. These safeguards extend to 8am IQ.” | “Smokeball AI capabilities (including Archie AI) are designed and operated to protect the confidentiality, integrity and availability of customer data and to support privacy requirements by limiting AI access to authorized users, authorized matters and authorized firm environments.” |
| Training or data-use statement | Mixed statement: “Our 8am IQ offerings do not train third-party AI models, but we may use inputs and outputs to develop and improve our products in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the security standards described above (How do you keep my data secure?).” | No-training commitment: “Smokeball does not provide customer data to third parties for AI model training or third-party AI modelling.” |
| Firm-size scope | Not stated | Solo, 2-5, 6-20 |
| Named connections | 8am MyCase, Microsoft Outlook | Microsoft Word, Microsoft Outlook |
| Data location | Not stated | Smokeball states that its solutions are hosted on Amazon Web Services. |
| Last checked | September 15, 2026 | September 15, 2026 |
Every value above is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Open either tool page for the full evidence ledger and source links.
Editorial assessment, side by side
The rows below are the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading, not vendor statements. They restate what each vendor published and add no claim of its own. Neither column is a rating or a recommendation.
| Assessment | 8am IQ for MyCase | Smokeball Archie AI |
|---|---|---|
| Reading the vendor's wording | The vendor says client data is not exposed to another MyCase customer, and that its AI does not train third-party models. The second half of the training statement is the part to read: the vendor reserves the right to use inputs and outputs to improve its own products. | The vendor says its AI capabilities limit access to authorised users, authorised matters, and authorised firm environments, and that it does not provide customer data to third parties for AI model training. |
| What adopting it costs | Because the assistant lives inside MyCase, adopting it means adopting MyCase. Leaving means leaving the platform, so the migration question is the same as the platform question. | The assistant is embedded in Smokeball, so adopting it means adopting Smokeball. Because the vendor publishes a data-location statement, the export and hosting questions are easier to answer up front than for its two peers. |
| Closest alternative | Manage AI (formerly Clio Duo) — The Clio-native equivalent. The two are not competing products; the choice follows which practice-management platform you already run. | Manage AI (formerly Clio Duo) — The Clio-native equivalent. This one publishes a firm-size scope and a data-location statement; the other two embedded assistants do not. |
Read the 8am IQ for MyCase record → · Read the Smokeball Archie AI record →