Skip to main content

Intake & client communication

LEX Reception

Legal answering and intake service with trained receptionists.

Status
Active
Data statements
Partial
Last checked
September 21, 2026
Price path
Public price
Firm size
Not stated

Last observed 42 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.

Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.

Editorial assessment

A legal answering and intake service built around trained legal receptionists.

This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.

What it is

An answering and intake service for law firms, staffed by receptionists trained for legal calls, with published plans and pricing.

What it is not

It is not a CRM or an AI intake product. It answers and screens calls rather than automating intake or managing leads.

Who it tends to fit

  • Firms that want legal-specific call handling rather than a general answering service
  • Solo and small firms without in-house reception
  • Firms that want published plans rather than a custom quote

Who it tends not to fit

  • Firms that want an AI-only service at lower cost
  • Firms that need intake automation and CRM tracking
  • Firms outside the markets the service covers

What to ask before you buy

  1. What is included in each plan, and what counts as an extra?
  2. How are receptionists trained on my firm's specific screening questions?
  3. How does the service record and pass on caller information?
  4. What is the contract term and the cancellation process?

Limits in the record

  • The checked pages describe the service and its receptionists but do not publish a data-handling statement.
  • Pricing is plan-based, so the fit depends on call volume rather than on features alone.
  • The service answers calls; it does not manage leads or matters afterward.

How it sits in Intake & client communication

This competes directly with Ruby, Smith.ai, and Answering Legal. Its positioning in the record is the legal-specific training of its receptionists rather than AI automation.

Reading the vendor’s wording

The vendor states that a trained legal receptionist answers calls. That describes the service model rather than data handling. The checked pages do not publish a confidentiality, training, or data-location statement, so a firm should ask how caller information is stored and shared.

How to evaluate it in a trial

  1. Compare what each plan includes against your actual call volume.
  2. Test how a receptionist handles a caller whose question needs a lawyer.
  3. Confirm how caller information is recorded and passed to your firm.
  4. Check the contract term and cancellation process before signing.

What adopting it costs

The switching cost is the phone number and the intake script, the same as any answering service. A firm changing providers has to redirect its number and retrain the new service.

Closest alternative

Answering Legal — The closest alternative. Both are legal answering services with published pricing; the difference is in call handling and contract terms rather than in features.

The record

Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.

What we verified

Vendor
LEX Reception. Observed September 21, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Price path
Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
What it does
General practice. LEX Reception presents a legal answering and intake service staffed by trained legal receptionists. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
Firm-size scope
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Connections
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Data location
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
Open the vendor page ↗