Skip to main content

Firm operations & billing

Clio Payments

Payment processing inside the Clio practice-management platform.

Status
Active
Data statements
Not found
Last checked
September 21, 2026
Price path
Contact sales
Firm size
Not stated

Last observed 42 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.

No published data-handling statements found. The checked sources did not contain a confidentiality, training, or data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.

Editorial assessment

Payment processing inside Clio, useful only if Clio is already your platform.

This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.

What it is

The payment-processing component of the Clio practice-management platform, covering client payments and trust-account handling inside Clio.

What it is not

It is not a standalone payment processor. It exists inside Clio, so adopting it means adopting Clio.

Who it tends to fit

  • Firms already running Clio as their practice-management platform
  • Firms that want payments and trust handling inside the same system as their matters
  • Firms that would rather not run a separate processor alongside their platform

Who it tends not to fit

  • Firms on a different practice-management platform
  • Firms that want to evaluate a payment processor independently of their platform choice
  • Firms that need a published data-handling statement before shortlisting

What to ask before you buy

  1. What are the effective processing rates, including any pass-through fees?
  2. Is payment processing included in my Clio plan or priced separately?
  3. How does the trust-account routing work inside Clio?
  4. What happens to payment history if I leave Clio?

Limits in the record

  • The checked pages do not publish a confidentiality, training, or data-location statement for the payments component.
  • Because it is embedded in Clio, the record cannot separate the payment decision from the platform decision.
  • The record is scoped to the payments component rather than to Clio as a whole.

How it sits in Firm operations & billing

This competes with LawPay for the same job, but from inside a platform rather than as an independent processor. A firm already on Clio gets the integration; a firm that wants to keep its processor independent does not.

Reading the vendor’s wording

The checked pages describe the payment features but do not publish a confidentiality, training, or data-location statement for this component. Because payments run inside Clio, the platform's terms govern. A firm that needs a written data commitment should read those terms and ask Clio directly.

How to evaluate it in a trial

  1. Compare the effective rate against an independent processor, including pass-through fees.
  2. Confirm whether processing is included in your Clio plan or billed separately.
  3. Test one real client payment end to end and confirm it lands in the correct account.
  4. Confirm how payment history exports if you leave the platform.

What adopting it costs

The switching cost is the platform migration rather than a payments migration. Because payments sit inside Clio, leaving the payments component means leaving Clio and moving matters, documents, and financial history together.

Closest alternative

LawPay — The closest alternative for the same job. LawPay is an independent processor that works alongside many platforms; this one only works inside Clio.

The record

Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.

What we verified

Vendor
Clio. Observed September 21, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Price path
Contact sales: No public price was located in the checked vendor source. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
What it does
General practice. Clio presents payment processing and trust-account handling inside the Clio platform. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
Firm-size scope
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Connections
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Data location
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
Open the vendor page ↗