Skip to main content

Firm operations & billing

LawPay

Payment processing built for law firms, with trust-account handling.

Status
Active
Data statements
Published
Last checked
September 21, 2026
Price path
Public price
Firm size
Not stated

Last observed 42 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.

Editorial assessment

Payment processing that understands IOLTA, sold by the company that also owns MyCase.

This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.

What it is

A card and eCheck payment processor built for law firms. Its distinguishing feature is that it handles the trust-account rules that make legal payments different from ordinary retail payments.

What it is not

It is not a practice-management system or an accounting package. It moves money and records the transaction; it does not run matters or produce the firm's books.

Who it tends to fit

  • Firms that need to accept client payments without manually handling card numbers
  • Firms that want a processor that already understands IOLTA trust rules
  • Firms running MyCase, CasePeer, or another platform in the 8am family

Who it tends not to fit

  • Firms that already process payments through their practice-management platform and do not want a second vendor
  • Firms that need full accounting rather than payment acceptance
  • Firms outside the United States, since the trust-account framing is US-specific

What to ask before you buy

  1. What are the effective rates for my card mix, including the pass-through fees listed on the pricing page?
  2. How does the trust-account routing work, and who is responsible if a payment is misclassified?
  3. What does the integration with my existing platform actually sync?
  4. What is the contract term, and is there a monthly minimum?

Limits in the record

  • The published pricing is percentage-based, so the real cost depends on the firm's card mix and volume.
  • The vendor publishes PCI DSS and encryption statements but the checked pages do not state a data-location commitment.
  • The trust-account handling is a US legal-market feature; the record's framing does not transfer to other jurisdictions.

How it sits in Firm operations & billing

Within firm operations and billing, this is the payment-acceptance layer rather than the accounting layer. CosmoLex and Centerbase bundle billing and accounting into a platform; LawPay sits underneath whichever platform the firm already runs.

Reading the vendor’s wording

The vendor says it is evaluated by independent auditors against PCI DSS Level 1 Service Provider standards, and that encryption protects information in transit and at rest. Both are process statements about how payments are handled. Neither is a statement about where the data is stored or how long it is kept, and the checked pages do not address model training because this is not a generative product.

How to evaluate it in a trial

  1. Calculate the effective rate on your actual card mix rather than the headline rate, including the pass-through fees the pricing page lists.
  2. Run one real client payment end to end and confirm it lands in the correct trust or operating account.
  3. Confirm what the integration with your existing platform syncs, and what still has to be entered by hand.
  4. Ask for the contract term and any monthly minimum in writing before signing.

What adopting it costs

The switching cost is mostly administrative: re-pointing payment links, updating client-facing payment pages, and re-establishing any scheduled payments. Historical transaction records live with the processor, so a firm leaving should export its statements first.

Closest alternative

CosmoLex — The closest alternative for a small firm. CosmoLex bundles payment acceptance into its accounting platform, so a firm already running it may not need a separate processor.

The record

Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.

What we verified

Vendor
AffiniPay. Observed September 21, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Price path
Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
What it does
General practice. LawPay presents card and eCheck payment processing designed for law firms, including IOLTA trust-account handling. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
Firm-size scope
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Connections
MyCase, CasePeer, QuickBooks. Observed September 21, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Data location
Our proprietary features, like Client Payment Pages and Card Vault, prevent you from having to manually handle client credit card information.. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
Open the vendor page ↗