Skip to main content

Intake & client communication

Abby Connect

Live receptionist and AI answering service.

Status
Active
Data statements
Partial
Last checked
September 21, 2026
Price path
Public price
Firm size
Not stated

Last observed 42 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.

Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.

Not legal-specific. This is a general-purpose product, not a legal workflow product.

Editorial assessment

A live receptionist service that pairs U.S.-based staff with AI answering.

This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.

What it is

An answering service combining U.S.-based live receptionists with AI, aimed at businesses generally rather than law firms specifically. It publishes pricing.

What it is not

It is not a legal-specific service and not a CRM. It answers calls rather than screening for legal matters or managing leads.

Who it tends to fit

  • Firms that want human answering backed by AI rather than one or the other
  • Firms that want a published price and a trial
  • Firms that need call insights alongside answering

Who it tends not to fit

  • Firms that need receptionists trained specifically on legal screening
  • Firms that need intake automation and CRM tracking
  • Firms that need a published data-handling statement before shortlisting

What to ask before you buy

  1. How are receptionists trained on my firm's specific screening questions?
  2. What does the AI handle, and when does a call go to a person?
  3. What call insights does the platform produce, and where is that data stored?
  4. What is included in the published price, and what counts as an extra?

Limits in the record

  • The service is not legal-specific, so the record flags it accordingly.
  • The checked pages do not publish a confidentiality, training, or data-location statement.
  • The AI and human split is worth testing directly, since it determines how calls are actually handled.

How it sits in Intake & client communication

This sits alongside Answering Legal and Smith.ai in the human-plus-AI part of the category. Its positioning is the combination rather than either extreme.

Reading the vendor’s wording

The vendor states that its service combines U.S.-based live receptionists with AI. That describes the service model rather than data handling. The checked pages do not publish a confidentiality, training, or data-location statement, so a firm should ask how call data and caller details are stored.

How to evaluate it in a trial

  1. Confirm how receptionists are trained on your firm's screening questions.
  2. Test where the AI hands off to a person and how cleanly that works.
  3. Ask what call insights are produced and where that data is stored.
  4. Check what the published price includes and what counts as an extra.

What adopting it costs

The switching cost is the phone number and the intake script. A firm changing providers has to redirect its number and retrain the new service.

Closest alternative

Smith.ai — The closest alternative. Both combine human receptionists with AI answering; Smith.ai is positioned for law firms while this one serves businesses generally.

The record

Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.

What we verified

Vendor
Abby. Observed September 21, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Price path
Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
What it does
General practice. Abby presents a combined human and AI answering service with U.S.-based live receptionists. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
Firm-size scope
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Connections
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Data location
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
Open the vendor page ↗