Skip to main content

Legal research

Docket Alarm

Court filing search, tracking, and litigation analytics.

Status
Active
Data statements
Partial
Last checked
September 21, 2026
Price path
Public price
Firm size
Not stated

Last observed 42 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.

Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.

Editorial assessment

Court filing search and litigation analytics across federal, state, and IP tribunals.

This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.

What it is

A court filing search, tracking, and analytics platform covering more than a billion filings from federal, state, PTAB, USPTO, and international courts, with published tiered pricing.

What it is not

It is not a research platform for legal authority. It works on filings and dockets rather than on case law and statutes.

Who it tends to fit

  • Litigators who need to track filings and docket activity
  • Firms that want analytics on litigation trends and judicial tendencies
  • Teams that need an API over court filing data

Who it tends not to fit

  • Firms looking for case-law research rather than docket tracking
  • Firms that need document access without per-document fees, unless they take the flat-fee tier
  • Firms outside the covered courts

What to ask before you buy

  1. Which courts are covered, and how quickly are new filings indexed?
  2. What do the PACER and state court document fees add on top of the subscription?
  3. What does the AI analytics feature rest on, and how far back does the data go?
  4. What are the API limits on my tier?

Limits in the record

  • Document fees from PACER and state courts are billed separately, so the subscription is not the full cost.
  • The analytics rest on court records, which reflect filings rather than outcomes in every case.
  • The checked pages do not publish a confidentiality or data-location statement.

How it sits in Legal research

This sits alongside Trellis in the analytics part of the category, but it covers federal and IP tribunals where Trellis focuses on state trial courts. A firm may need one or both depending on where it litigates.

Reading the vendor’s wording

The vendor states that its analytics are trained on over a billion real court records. That describes the training corpus for its models, which is public court data rather than customer work product. The checked pages do not state how a firm's own tracked matters are handled.

How to evaluate it in a trial

  1. Check coverage and indexing speed for the courts your firm appears in.
  2. Calculate the real cost including PACER and state court document fees, which are billed separately.
  3. Test the analytics against a matter you already understand.
  4. Review the API limits if you plan to integrate.

What adopting it costs

The switching cost is low for the subscription itself, but any alerts, tracks, or API integrations a firm has built would have to be rebuilt elsewhere.

Closest alternative

Trellis — The closest alternative. Both provide litigation analytics over court data; Trellis focuses on state trial courts while this one covers federal, state, and IP tribunals.

The record

Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.

What we verified

Vendor
Fastcase. Observed September 21, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Price path
Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
What it does
Litigation. Docket Alarm presents search, tracking, and analytics across more than one billion U.S. court filings from federal, state, PTAB, USPTO, and international courts. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
Firm-size scope
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Connections
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Data location
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
Open the vendor page ↗