Legal research
Trellis
State trial court research and litigation analytics.
Last observed 42 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.
Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.
Editorial assessment
State trial court research and analytics, with a published SOC 2 certification.
This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.
What it is
A research platform built on state trial court filings, covering search and litigation analytics. It publishes a pricing page and states SOC 2 Type II certification.
What it is not
It is not a federal-court research tool. Its distinguishing coverage is state trial courts, which the larger research platforms cover less thoroughly.
Who it tends to fit
- Litigators who need state trial court data rather than appellate opinions
- Firms that want to research how a judge or opposing counsel has handled similar cases
- Firms that weigh a published SOC 2 certification in the buying decision
Who it tends not to fit
- Firms whose work is primarily federal or appellate
- Firms that need secondary sources and treatises alongside filings
- Firms operating outside the covered states
What to ask before you buy
- Which states and courts are actually covered, and how current is the data?
- What does the analytics feature rest on, and how far back does the data go?
- Where is my firm's data stored, and is it separated from other customers?
- What does the pricing page include, and what sits outside it?
Limits in the record
- Coverage is state trial courts, so the record does not treat it as a general research platform.
- The checked pages state SOC 2 Type II certification but do not publish a data-location or training statement.
- The pricing page could not be read directly during this check, so the record notes only that a pricing page exists.
How it sits in Legal research
This competes with the large research platforms on state trial court depth rather than on breadth. A firm that needs appellate and secondary sources still needs one of the larger platforms alongside it.
Reading the vendor’s wording
The vendor states SOC 2 Type II certification, which is a process statement about how the vendor runs its systems. The checked pages do not publish a confidentiality, training, or data-location statement, so those remain open questions for a firm uploading its own work product.
How to evaluate it in a trial
- Check whether the states you actually litigate in are covered before evaluating anything else.
- Search a judge or matter you already know and verify the analytics against your own understanding.
- Ask how current the trial court data is, since filing coverage varies by court.
- Request the data-location and retention position in writing.
What adopting it costs
The switching cost is low, because research is not a system of record. Saved research and any analytics work product do not transfer, so a firm leaving should export what it wants to keep.
Closest alternative
vLex Vincent AI — The closest alternative. Both add research depth beyond the two dominant platforms; this one focuses on state trial courts while vLex covers a broader international corpus.
The record
Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.
What we verified
- Vendor
- Trellis. Observed September 21, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
- Price path
- Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
- What it does
- Litigation. Trellis presents state trial court research and litigation analytics built on trial court filings. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
- Firm-size scope
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Connections
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Data location
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗