Skip to main content

Firm operations & billing

CARET Legal

End-to-end practice management with billing and payments.

Status
Active
Data statements
Published
Last checked
September 21, 2026
Price path
Contact sales
Firm size
Not stated

Last observed 42 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.

Editorial assessment

End-to-end practice management with a published SOC 2 and encryption position.

This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.

What it is

A cloud practice-management platform covering matters, billing, and payments. It publishes a security page naming SOC 2 compliance, PCI DSS, and a specific encryption process.

What it is not

It is not a narrow billing tool or a payments processor. It is a full platform, and the security framing is part of how it positions against peers.

Who it tends to fit

  • Firms that want matters, billing, and payments in one platform
  • Firms that weigh a published encryption standard in the buying decision
  • Firms moving off an older practice-management system

Who it tends not to fit

  • Firms that only need billing, since the platform covers much more
  • Solo practitioners who want a published price and self-serve signup
  • Firms that need a stated data-location commitment, which the security page does not give

What to ask before you buy

  1. What does the platform cost for my firm size, and what is the contract term?
  2. What does the multi-iteration 2048-bit encryption process protect, and what falls outside it?
  3. Where is my firm's data hosted?
  4. What does migrating from my current system involve, including historical billing?

Limits in the record

  • No public price was located, so evaluation requires a sales conversation.
  • The encryption description is specific but the checked page does not state a data-location or retention commitment.
  • The SOC 2 claim is described as a first, which is a marketing framing rather than a technical fact the record can verify.

How it sits in Firm operations & billing

This is one of the full platforms in the category, competing with Centerbase, SurePoint, and Tabs3. Its distinguishing published fact is the specific encryption process it describes.

Reading the vendor’s wording

The vendor states SOC 2 compliance, PCI DSS for payment data, and a multi-iteration 2048-bit encryption process for documents and critical data. That is one of the more specific encryption descriptions in the category. The page does not state where data is hosted or how long it is retained, and it does not address model training.

How to evaluate it in a trial

  1. Ask what the described encryption process covers and what sits outside it.
  2. Request the data-location and retention position in writing, since the security page does not state it.
  3. Get full pricing for your firm size and the contract term before committing.
  4. Map the migration path, including how historical billing and trust records transfer.

What adopting it costs

The switching cost is high. Matters, billing, documents, and payments all live in the platform, so a firm leaving has to migrate each and keep the financial records auditable through the change.

Closest alternative

SurePoint — The closest alternative. Both are sales-led platforms for established firms with published SOC 2 statements; this one states an encryption standard where SurePoint names its infrastructure providers.

The record

Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.

What we verified

Vendor
CARET. Observed September 21, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
Price path
Contact sales: No public price was located in the checked vendor source. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
What it does
General practice. CARET Legal presents end-to-end practice management covering matters, billing, and payments for law firms. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
Firm-size scope
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Connections
Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
Data location
Sensitive payment information, including credit card numbers, are always secure within the CARET Legal system.. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
Open the vendor page ↗