Firm operations & billing
Aderant
Financial and practice management for larger law firms.
Last observed 42 days ago. Records are treated as awaiting re-check after ninety days.
Only some data-handling statements were found. The checked sources did not contain all three of a confidentiality, training, and data-location statement. That is a gap in what the vendor publishes, not a finding about the product. Ask the vendor directly, or weigh it however your firm sees fit.
Editorial assessment
Financial and practice management aimed at larger firms, with a SOC 2 statement for its cloud platform.
This section is the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading of the dated facts below. It is not a vendor statement, not a rating, and not a recommendation. Every product fact it rests on is recorded with a source in the record.
What it is
A financial-management and practice-management software suite for larger law firms, covering billing, timekeeping, pricing, and related operations.
What it is not
It is not a small-firm product. The suite and the sales-led model point to firms with dedicated operations staff.
Who it tends to fit
- Larger firms with dedicated finance and operations functions
- Firms that need timekeeping, billing, and pricing in one suite
- Firms that want a published SOC 2 statement for the cloud platform
Who it tends not to fit
- Solo and small firms that need a published price and a self-serve path
- Firms that only need billing rather than a full financial suite
- Firms that need a published data-location or training statement
What to ask before you buy
- Which modules does my firm actually need, and what does that combination cost?
- Does the SOC 2 Type 2 examination cover the specific product I would deploy?
- Where is my firm's data hosted?
- What does implementation involve, and how long does it take?
Limits in the record
- No public price was located, so the product cannot be evaluated without a sales conversation.
- The SOC 2 statement is tied to one named product, so it does not automatically cover the whole suite.
- The checked pages do not state a data-location or training commitment.
How it sits in Firm operations & billing
This is the largest-firm option in the category, alongside SurePoint. It competes on suite breadth and timekeeping rather than on published pricing or self-serve evaluation.
Reading the vendor’s wording
The vendor announced a completed SOC 2 Type 2 examination for one named cloud product. That is a real, dated commitment, but it is scoped to that product rather than to the suite as a whole. The checked pages do not state a data-location or training position, so those remain open questions for a firm evaluating the wider suite.
How to evaluate it in a trial
- Confirm whether the SOC 2 examination covers the specific product you would deploy.
- Ask for the data-location and retention position in writing.
- Scope the implementation timeline and the internal effort it requires before committing.
- Map how financial and timekeeping history transfers if you later leave.
What adopting it costs
The switching cost is high and the implementation is substantial. Financial management, timekeeping, and pricing all live in the suite, so a firm leaving has to migrate each and keep financial records auditable throughout.
Closest alternative
SurePoint — The closest alternative. Both are sales-led financial and practice-management platforms for established firms; SurePoint publishes a broader set of security controls.
The record
Everything below is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Each line links to the page it came from so you can confirm it yourself.
What we verified
- Vendor
- Aderant. Observed September 21, 2026 · Vendor page ↗
- Price path
- Contact sales: No public price was located in the checked vendor source. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
- What it does
- General practice. Aderant presents financial management, timekeeping, and practice management software for larger law firms. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗
- Firm-size scope
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Connections
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Checked page ↗
- Data location
- Not stated. Observed September 21, 2026 · Source ↗