Skip to main content

COMPARISON · Legal research

CoCounsel vs Midpage

Legal research assistants compared on firm-size scope and data-handling statements. This page places vendor-published facts side by side. It does not rank the products or state which is better.

Vendor facts for CoCounsel and Midpage
FactCoCounselMidpage
CategoryLegal researchLegal research
VendorThomson ReutersMidpage
StatusActiveActive
Price pathContact sales: No public price was located in the checked vendor source.Public price: Vendor publishes a pricing page.
Confidentiality statement“Your user content and prompts are not used to train or improve CoCounsel and associated products or LLMs used in Thomson Reuters or third-party output.”“Midpage maintains administrative, physical, and technical safeguards designed to protect the security, confidentiality, and integrity of Customer Data.”
Training or data-use statementNo-training commitment: “Thomson Reuters AI third-party partners, such as OpenAI and Google, are contractually prohibited from using any customer data to train their models.”No-training commitment: “Agreements with AI model providers do not permit those vendors to train on Midpage customer data.”
Firm-size scope2-5Not stated
Named connectionsWestlaw, Practical LawNot stated
Data locationNot statedCustomer Data is encrypted at rest using AES-256 and in transit using TLS 1.2 or higher, in each case using industry-standard cryptographic algorithms.
Last checkedSeptember 15, 2026September 21, 2026

Every value above is a dated observation from the vendor’s own published material. Open either tool page for the full evidence ledger and source links.

Editorial assessment, side by side

The rows below are the CounselAtlas editorial desk’s own reading, not vendor statements. They restate what each vendor published and add no claim of its own. Neither column is a rating or a recommendation.

Editorial assessment for CoCounsel and Midpage
AssessmentCoCounselMidpage
Reading the vendor's wordingThe vendor publishes both a confidentiality statement and a no-training commitment, which is more than some research tools state. The firm-size language points at the 2-5 band.The vendor states that agreements with AI model providers do not permit those vendors to train on customer data, that data is encrypted at rest with AES-256 and in transit with TLS 1.2 or higher, and that controls are validated by annual SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA audits. This is one of the fuller disclosures in the research category.
What adopting it costsIt is a focused subscription rather than a platform seat, so adopting it does not require leaving an existing research platform. That also means it can sit alongside one, which lowers the switching risk.It is a research surface rather than a system of record, so adopting it does not replace matter management. It can sit alongside an existing research platform, which lowers the switching risk.
Closest alternativeLexis+ with Protégé — The large-platform option with a different contract shape. This one is a focused subscription; that one is a seat inside a platform.vLex Vincent AI — The closest newer research entrant. Both publish security detail; the difference is the content library behind the answers.

Read the CoCounsel record → · Read the Midpage record →